2009 Hugo Winners

Winners of the 2009 Hugo Awards are up, as of August 9th:

http://www.thehugoawards.org/2009/08/2009-hugo-award-winners/

I have to say, I think it’s totally awesome that Dr. Horrible’s SingAlong Blog won for Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form.    Way to go Joss!  And another one of my favourite guys, Neil Gaiman, won for best novel.  I’m not sure, but it might be the first time that a YA novel has won in that category. 

Now I have to start scrounging around in the local book stores and start doing some serious reading.  It’s been far too long since I bothered to check out new SF authors (I’ve been a bit of a creature of habit, genre/reading wise lately).

4 Comments

  1. August 19, 2009 at 2:32 am

    May I recommend China Mieville, Robin Hobb, and Lois McMaster Bujold? You may have heard of them already.

    Also, I just heard of Dr. Horrible a couple weeks ago, and I loved it. What a brilliant concept!

  2. mimosaeffect said,

    August 19, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions. I’m already a fan of Ms. Bujold – inhaled all the Miles Vorkosigan novels, and read several of her fantasy works as well. A master of her craft, to be sure. I’ll file the other two away to check out later.

    cheers
    -dr

  3. BabbleAmble said,

    August 19, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    That’s fantastic re: Dr. Horrible. On a related note I’ve had Do You Want to Date My Avatar stuck in my head at work all day. Oh, Joss, what can’t you do?

  4. noahthegreat said,

    August 25, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Joss is amazing; I’m actually rewatching Firefly.


