Saturday Scribes Writing Prompt: April 17

Theme: Listen

Words:
fence
ocean
eggshell
strum

NaPoWriMo participants can feel free to post links to their poems here, whether they relate to the prompts or not. Prose and other forms of creative writing are also welcome, regardless of the source of inspiration.

As usual, remember comments are semi-moderated, so don’t worry if your comment doesn’t show up right away. Newcomers can learn more about Saturday Scribes here (including how to do a permalink to your post) and read the prompt guidelines here.

8 Comments

  1. desert rat said,

    April 17, 2009 at 2:27 am

    Getting mine up early this week, hoping to spend tomorrow outside in the garden.

    listen

  2. April 17, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Mine is here:

    will you come into my parlour

  3. April 17, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Here’s a little NaPoWriMo thingy:

    http://sewina.blogspot.com/2009/04/napowrimo-17.html

    I’ll try and get back later with something for the Listen theme.

  4. April 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Here’s something for the Listen prompt:

    http://sewina.blogspot.com/2009/04/napowrimo-18-saturday-scribes.html

    Splish Splash

  5. Neverending story said,

    April 19, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Hi, hope I don’t get spammed. I’m here

    http://theweekthatwas.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/saturday-scribes-listen/

  6. April 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Brief Ballad O’ the Eggshell

    They fenced upon the ocean
    They fenced upon each swell
    At swordplay were the manxome foes;
    Their bellies were unwell.

    Their ship was called the Eggshell
    Her tale was brief, in sum
    They fenced with swords ad nauseum
    And I the ballad strum;

    Ad nauseum they fenced with swords
    And I the ballad strum
    O.

  7. mimosaeffect said,

    April 20, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Hi Percy, thanks for dropping by! Usually the tradition is to just post a link to the poem, but hey, a break with tradition is sometimes cool too. I can’t help but think of Lewis Carroll when I read that; “the manxome foes” definitely brings the Jabberwocky to mind. I have a feeling with a name like “the Eggshell’, the poor ship (along with its embattled inhabitants) is not long for this world.

  8. April 23, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Mimo, I shall try to restrain myself in future and do as you suggest, for oft I wax poetically ebullient in a spontaneous manner…

    Meanwhile there is a withy contest, I guess, or memebe a meme, that’s on my blog. Anyone is free to enter with a link or a sponaneous poetic outcry upon my thread.


