Weekly Writing Quotes: On Inspiration

There is often a mysterious sense of “otherness” when it comes to writing: the idea of stories fully formed just waiting to get out; uncooperative characters yanking the plot right out of the writer’s hands and having their own way with it; ethereal muses dropping ideas into our head as we sleep.

The pages are still blank, but there is a miraculous feeling of the words being there, written in invisible ink and clamoring to become visible. ~Vladimir Nabakov

The story I am writing exists, written in absolutely perfect fashion, some place, in the air. All I must do is find it, and copy it. ~Jules Renard, “Diary,” February 1895

It seems to me that those songs that have been any good, I have nothing much to do with the writing of them. The words have just crawled down my sleeve and come out on the page. ~Joan Baez

Quotes source: quotegarden.com

